Friday, October 16, 2015

Plum Nelly - "Deceptive Lines" 1970

Plum Nelly took their name from a defunct rock club of the same name on their home turf of NYC after two of the employees got them a deal with Capitol records. The lineup consisted of John Earl Walker-lead guitar, Ric Prince - Lead vocals, Peter Harris-bass, Steve Ress-Rythm guitar and vocals, and Christopher Lloyd on drums. The band shared bills with a lot of major acts at the time including, but not limited to Jimi Hendrix, Joe Cocker, The Kinks, and Muddy Waters. The album was recorded in 1970 and was released in '71. Background vocals on "Lonely Man's Cry" were done by The Sweet Inspirations led by Cissy Houston, Whitney Houston's mother, and were also doing recording for Elvis Presley and Aretha Franklin at the time. The Group toured the U.S. in the early 70's and in '74 relocated to L.A. at which time their bass player Bob Feit went on to play for Tina Turner.
Plum Nelly disbanded in 1976. It was at this time John Earl Walker formed the John Earl Walker band and played throughout the 70's & 80's. The album is guitar driven rock with some really great leads. It sounds more like amid to late 70's project than 1970. All in all a good listen.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...