Sunday, May 29, 2016

Liquid Smoke - s/t 1969

Liquid Smoke were a Long Island, New York band consisting of Sandy Pantaleo (vocals), Vince Fersak (guitar), Mike Arculeta (bass), Chas Kimbrell (drums), and Bill Ninnman (keys).
The group formed while they were students at ECU and signed with Avco Embassy in 1969, releasing their lone album in early 1970 which was produced by Vinny Testa who also produced Frijid Pink, and also co-produced with Shadow Morton The Merchant of Dream's 1968 psych masterpiece: "Strange Night's Voyage."
The track: "Lookin' for Tomorrow" was the highlight of Peruvian bandGerardo Manuel & El Humo's debut LP: "Apocallypsis." The album also includes their single, "I who Have Nothing", a cover of the Ben E. King hit which was also covered earlier by Terry Knight and the Pack, and later by Tom Jones and Sylvester. Sandy Panaleo would later go on to a successful acting/vocalist/composer carreer as Sonny Rose.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...