Friday, April 29, 2016

Captain Beyond - s/t 1972 - "Sufficiently Breathless" 1973

The original lineup for Captain Beyond were singer Rod Evans (ex-Deep Purple), drummer Bobby Caldwell (ex-Johnny Winter), guitarist Larry "Rhino" Reinhardt (ex-Iron Butterfly), and bassist Lee Dorman (ex-Iron Butterfly), as well as keyboardist Lewie Gold. Gold left due to personal reasons before the album was recorded. The remaining lineup recorded the self-titled debut album, released in 1972.
Following this album, Caldwell left the band to join Derringer and was replaced by drummer Brian Glascock. Also joining the band around this time were Reese Wynans on keyboards, and Guille Garcia on congas. The record company's chosen producer Giorgio Gomelsky did not like Glascock's drumming, and requested another drummer. Glascock was released and Marty Rodriguez was brought in on drums at the recommendation of Garcia. This six man lineup recorded the bands second album: Sufficiently Breathless. Tension during the recording led to Evans quitting. The original lineup reformed later in 1973 for a U.S. tour, but the band split up at the end of the year, with Rod Evans leaving the music industry all together.

The band reformed in 1976 with Willy Daffern on vocals, and Bobby Caldwell, Rhino, and Lee Dormand completing the lineup. They recorded the bands third album: Dawn Explosion on Warner Brothers, but broke up in 1978.
Reinhadt and Caldwell reformed the band with others in 1998, and released an e.p., and continued to perform and even began touring in 2015.  

No comments:

Post a Comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...